I was outside playing Ingress, there’s a few portals near my office and its quick walk, so I’m out there every day.  There’s a guy out there who I’ve only started to see just recently, I know he’s playing Pokémon. I know those portals are also Pokestops.  The only interaction I’ve had with this guy has been once I said “Pardon me” to get past one him one time when he was oblivious to the fact that he was wandering the whole sidewalk, and I really didn’t want to run into him.

So today I was out there by myself doing my thing, when he walks up, he looks at me at the same time I happen to glance at him. He gestures to his phone, and then following interaction happened.

Him: Pokémon?

Me: *confused look* Ingress

Him: What’s ingress?

Me: What’s Pokémon?

Him: *Jaw drop* How can you not know what Pokémon is?

I just shrugged at him, at this point he goes into a detailed summary of what it is.

My Jaw drops intentionally as he mentions some of the characters.

Me: So let me get this straight, you’re coming to invasion points to capture fictional characters in groups of 10’s of millions of people, while I’m trying to save the world from a legitimate alien invasion?… They really are winning, you are all under alien mind control, we’re screwed.

I walked off, leaving him with his jaw hanging open, like he cannot believe what he just heard. I cannot help but wonder, what’s going through his head at this moment.

